The Fork in the Road

Posted: May 9, 2011 in Writing
Tags: , ,

Life is a roller coaster. I reflected a lot today on who I am, where I’ve been and where I’m going. This year is a pivotal year for me. A fork in the road, as they say. You wake up one morning and that fork appears on the horizon, and you instantly cloak yourself in self-doubt, worry about your future and maybe get a little scared. Professionally, everything I’ve been, everything I’ve accomplished for the last 22 years as a husband and father is about to be challenged. Great change will occur. But that’s okay, and today I realized why. You see, I’ve always had a little bit of a dreamer in “me”. Maybe a lot. I’m not afraid to believe in myself, not afraid to push the envelope, not afraid to take a chance. I’ve learned a great deal about life in my 52 years, and I plan to use every bit of it during my ride to the exit.

As for writing, many lessons parallel. What I’ve learned in the last 5 months in this literary game is mind-boggling, eye-opening, and food for my soul. I know I will find my place. It’s always been there, just down that way, just down one of those paths at the fork in the road. And I will choose wisely….

Leave a Reply

